REA announces inaugural Energy, Security & Prosperity Symposium

This one day event (26th March 2013, Royal Institution, London) will bring together over twenty high-level speakers to discuss the future of UK energy. It will be held under Chatham House Rules, allowing speakers to be open and frank. The line-up includes former CEO of BP, Tony Hayward on the future of fossil fuels, and scene setting from Sir David King, Jonathon Porritt, Rear Admiral Chris Parry, Will Hutton and others – on themes as wide-ranging as nuclear power, resource conflicts, the nature of media coverage and the implications for society of our changing energy world.
REA Chief Executive Gaynor Hartnell invites you to join us for a truly unique energy event:
“We firmly believe that renewables are on the cusp of making economic sense even if one does not believe in climate change. But we don’t want to be talking about subsidies, financial incentives and complex policies. So we are launching an event which will be about renewables and their place in the energy mix of the future. You won’t get politicians or corporate advertising at this event, just fascinating speakers, lively audience participation and great networking”
Register your place here:
The Renewable Energy Association has brought together over two dozen of the most informed, inspiring and entertaining speakers to debate the pressing energy issues facing the UK. This event will take place under Chatham House Rules, allowing speakers to be open and frank – a completely unique opportunity to hear what key commentators really think.
*  What are the implications for business and society of renewables becoming mainstream?
*  How does our energy system compare to that of other economies?
*  What transformational developments and opportunities lie ahead?
Confirmed Speakers;
Chris Parry – Rear Admiral, Royal Navy retired
Craig Mahoney – CEO, The Higher Education Academy
Damian Carrington – Head of Environment, The Guardian
David Williams – CEO, Eco2
Dr Antony White – Electricity Expert, Banker and Industrial Strategist
Enric Ruiz-Geli – Founder of Cloud9 Architecture Studio, Barcelona
Gaynor Hartnell – Chief Executive, REA
Helen Czerski – Oceanographer, bubble scientist, TV presenter
Ian Marchant – Chief Executive, SSE
Jeremy Leggett – Founder & Non-Executive Chairman, Solarcentury, Chairman, Solar Aid
Jonathon Porritt – Founder Director, Forum for the Future
Klaus Bonhoff – President, NOW GmbH (National Organisation Hydrogen & Fuel Cell Technology)
Lucy Bullivant – Architect, Curator and Author of Masterplanning Futures
Martin Wright – Former CEO, Siemens’ Marine Current Turbines
Phillip Cozens – Progressive Energy
Sir David King – Ex Chief Scientist UK
Stephen Woodhouse – Director, Pöyry Management Consulting
Tim Yeo MP – MP & Chairman of the Energy and Climate Change Select Committee
Tony Hayward – CEO, Genel Energy Plc, Former CEO, BP
Vicky Pope – Head of Integration and Growth, The Met Office
Volker Beckers – Group Chief Executive Officer, RWE npower
Will Hutton – Chair, Big innovation Centre, Journalist, academic
More speakers will be confirmed shortly.
The day concludes with a drinks reception and dinner.
The conference will be held at the The Royal Institution, 21 Albemarle Street, London, W1S 4BS.

Form not found, form id :279