Solar Power Portal Awards 2014 shortlist announced

Solar Power Portal is delighted to announce the shortlist for the 2014 Solar Power Portal Awards.
spp2The Awards, now in their 2nd year, highlight the outstanding projects currently in the industry, helping to reflect the good practice, professionalism, quality, safety and level of innovation that has catapulted the UK solar industry into one of the top five global PV markets.
Michael Middlemast from Zeversolar, category sponsor recently commented: “The Solar Power Portal Awards offers the UK PV industry a chance to collectively celebrate key achievements and milestones.”
After a day of deliberation by the Solar Power Portal Awards judges, the following are the twelve awards categories and candidates who have been shortlisted:
Public space installation
• Ash Green Community Primary School, Enphase Energy
• Middlesex University Hospital, Spirit Solar
• St Bartholomew’s school enhancement project, ArchitectureLIVE
Most successful integrated renewables system
• Sheeplands Farm, The Greener Group
• The Solar House, Newform Energy
Renewable heat installation
• Bradfield college art wing, Spirit Solar
• Carr Hall Castle, Think Renewable Energy
• Granby Lodge Farm, Radiant Heating Solutions
Commercial rooftop installation
Sponsored by Rexel Energy Solutions
• AV Dawson, Duncan Renewables
• ASDA Abbey Lane, G&H Sustainability
• Kingspan Insulation Selby, Kingspan Energy
• Lakeside Energy from Waste, BELECTRIC UK
• Potato Power, Renewables4Business
Community installation
• Babergh District Council, Campbell & Kennedy
• Coalfields community sustainable energy programme, CRT Renewable Energy
• St Matthew’s Church, The Phoenix Works
Ground mount solar site (<10MW)
• Baglan Bay, St Modwen Plc and Eco Energy Power Solutions
• Ketton cement works, Lark Energy
• Willersey Solar Farm, BELECTRIC UK
Utility-scale solar farm (>10MW)
• Ermine Street Solar Farm, Lightsource Renewable Energy
• Lackford Estate Solar Park, Low Carbon
• Nova Scotia Farm, Conergy UK
Domestic rooftop installation
Sponsored by Zeversolar
• Croyde Cottage, Solarsense UK
• River Bank, Spirit Solar
• My Eco Home, IRFTS
Communications campaign
• 10 Commitments, The Solar Trade Association
• Enphase Energy, Hill + Knowlton Strategies
• Solar Independence Day, The Solar Trade Association
Project finance innovation
• Abundance Generation
• Foresight Group
• Liddeston Ridge PV array, Port of Milford Haven
• Lightsource Renewable Energy
Installer of the year
Sponsored by BayWa r.e.
• EvoEnergy
• Kingspan Energy Installations
• SALIIS NI Solar Energy Project
• Spirit Solar
• Sungift Solar
The Solar Power Portal outstanding achievement award
The Solar Power Portal achievement award goes to an individual deserving singular recognition for their outstanding service and contribution to the solar industry. The winner of this award will be announced on the night.
The awards judges include some of today’s leading solar industry authorities, including:
• Gaynor Hartnell, Renewable Energy Association (R.E.A.)
• Jennifer Chase, Bloomberg New Energy Finance
• Jonathan Scurlock, National Farmers’ Union
• Philip Wolfe, Wiki-Solar and Wolfeware
• Ray Noble, Solar Consultant
The awards will take place at this year’s Solar Energy UK event in Birmingham. Winning entrants will receive their awards at a prestigious presentation and gala dinner ceremony at the Hilton NEC, Birmingham on Tuesday 14 October.
This year’s host will be Kate Humble, writer and TV presenter – tickets for the Solar Power Portal Awards Gala Dinner can be booked here
Solar Energy UK
Solar Energy UK 2014 is now in its 5th year and firmly established itself as the no.1 UK event for all professionals within the solar industry, attracting over 190 exhibitors and 3,000+ unique visitors to date. Entry to the event is free. To register go here.